Whole30 Ice Cream: Can I Have Ice Cream on Whole30?

Life Health HQ is reader-supported, which means we may earn a small commission through products purchased using links on this page. Here’s how it works.

Ice cream is a favorite dessert for many, but it’s simply not allowed on Whole30.

Why? Well, ice cream has dairy in it, and all dairy is banned on Whole30.

There is dairy-free sorbet, but these are loaded with sugar, and since sugar is also a no-no ingredient on Whole30, the lack of dairy doesn’t make a difference.

There’s also a smattering of dairy-free ice creams on the market that use coconut milk or almond milk over traditional dairy. However, these too contains vast amounts of sugar, so they’re definitely not permitted.

In short, no ice cream of any kind is allowed on Whole30!

Need some satisfaction after your meals? Try a bit of fruit, some seltzer water, or these Whole30 dessert recipes.

Photo of author
about the author:
Meg Mars
Meg is a writer who is passionate about healthy eating. From Whole30 and South Beach Diet, to paleo and intermittent fasting, she's experimented with several healthy eating regiments and is passionate about helping readers find the perfect food plan match for their lifestyles.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.